Articles on: TracOS™

Permission Groups

Permission Groups



In the TRACTIAN platform, Administrators have the ability to change permission settings for other user profiles within the platform.

This allows you to create and define access levels for each user according to the needs of the operation, preventing errors in processes and ensuring data security.

To do this, you should go to the Platform Settings, and then click on Permissions.

When opening this page for the first time, you will see that there are already some existing profiles, which are the platform's default profiles: Administrator, Planner, Technician, Requester, and Viewer. They are pre-configured as base profiles and can be customized with permissions of your choosing.



Adding a New Profile





To add a new user profile, click "+ Add Profile" in the top right corner of the Permissions tab.

The required fields for creating a new user profile are:

Profile Name: Identify the new profile
Base Profile: Base permission level for the new profile, based on the default options mentioned earlier.
Limit Access by Location: Choose whether the profile will have limited access to a single location or if they will be able to access the entire plant.
Platform Modules: If you have more than one TRACTIAN product, you can select access to Energy Monitoring, Vibration Monitoring, and CMMS features.

Some important information to know before registering a new profile:

It's always necessary to define a higher-level base profile. For example, to create a Coordinator profile within the platform, you should start by selecting the Administrator profile and then remove access permissions according to your needs.

Requester or Viewer profiles cannot become Planner or Technician profiles.

Remember: The Requester profile is exclusive to TracOS™ users; this means that they won't have access to the Monitoring tabs, even if your company has both products.

Access Permissions



After filling in the basic information, you can edit the Permissions for the new profile.

In the General tab, which includes features common to all products, you'll have access to permissions for Assets and Locations, Metrics, Reports, and Platform Settings.

In the TracOS™ tab, you can define permissions for Work Orders, Requests, Plans, Inventory, Procedures, and Settings.

In the Monitoring tab, you can define permissions for Status, Insights, Analytics, Floorplans, Devices, Electric Bills (if you have Energy Trac), and Criticality.

Within Pages and Settings, there are several actions that can be allowed or denied for the new profile:

View: Allows the user to view data on the Page/Setting.
Access: Allows the user to access the Page/Setting.
Create: Allows the user to create entries on the Page/Setting.
Edit: Allows the user to edit entries on the Page/Setting.
Delete: Allows the user to delete entries on the Page/Setting.
Fill: Allows the user to fill in data on the Page/Setting.
Create New Tags: Allows the user to create new tags in the forms on the Page/Setting.
Create New Failures: Allows the user to create new failures in the forms on the Page/Setting.


Permission Type: Allows limiting actions based on users. For example, you can grant editing permissions for Assets to all profiles or only to users who registered that asset on the platform:


All: Grants the action for all permissions on that page.
Created by the User or Assignee: Grants the action for objects created by the user or assigned as responsible.
Created by the User or Team Members and Assignee: Grants the action for objects created by the user, assigned as responsible, created by team members, or for which team members are responsible.



Hierarchy in Actions


Within every action, there is a Hierarchy. Every action depends on the View action, meaning that if you can't view that Page/Setting, no other action can be configured. In other words, if you define that the new profile is based on the Technician, for example, and within that role, there is no option to view time and cost reports, configuring that function is not allowed.

This hierarchy extends to fields within actions. If you can't view the Assignee field, you also can't create, edit, or fill in that field.



There is no hierarchy for the Access action because it is possible to limit the user's access to one page while still allowing them to create or edit objects on other pages, as seen with Procedures and Inventory Items within the Work Orders page.

After configuring permission settings, remember to click on Save.

Editing an Existing Profile


Within each existing profile, you can edit access settings. To do so, select the profile you want to edit and click on the "Edit" button in the top right corner, within the selected profile.



The permission options will be the same as the "Adding a New Profile" section we covered above.

To adjust accesses in the platform, the standard procedure involves starting with a profile that has broader access, such as a Planner, and then adjusting permissions by removing them as necessary. In other words, there is no direct ability to promote Requester or Viewer users to more advanced roles, such as Technicians or Planners. Instead, you need to start with a more comprehensive profile and customize it by adding or removing permissions according to their specific needs.

Updated on: 12/04/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback

Cancel

Thank you!